Munster Breeze Past The Tigers With A Bonus-Point Win At Thomond Park

Tigers tamed.

For the second consecutive season running, Munster have soundly beaten the Leicester Tigers in Thomond Park, with a 33-10 win, in Johann van Graan’s first European game in charge.

There was always only going to be one winner, with Leicester failing to threaten for most of the game. Within 20 minutes Munster were cruising and 10-0 up thanks to a try from Rhys Marshall and a pair of kicks from Ian Keatley.

By the half hour mark Munster had doubled their lead thanks to a try from Simon Zebo and another couple of kicks from the in-form Ian Keatley, who put Zebo through for his score with a perfectly weighted kick. Both sides then traded penalties, with Munster leading 23-3 at the break.

The second half wasn’t much different, with Munster always looking in control. Captain Peter O’Mahony bagged their third in the 56th minute, with the pack driving over for the bonus-point try less than ten minutes later.

Leicester’s Harry Thacker grabbed a consolation score in between those efforts, but the Tigers never looked like they were gonna come back into the game at any stage.

Sam Arnold was awarded the man of the match award after a super showing on his European debut, with Rhys Marshall, Murray, O’Mahony and Keatley also really impressing.

Full-time: Munster 33-10 Leicester Tigers.

You may also like...