BREAKING: Joe Schmidt Names Ireland Team For Fiji Test

Time to experiment.

Joe Schmidt has made wholesale changes to the Ireland team that secured a record win over the Springboks this past weekend, as his side prepare for the visit of Fiji

Chris Farrell will make his debut at outside centre, with Stuart McCloskey set to earn his 2nd cap at inside centre. Darren Sweetnam is handed his first start in green after impressing off the bench against the Springboks, with Dave Kearney making his return on the other wing.

Joey Carbery meanwhile is handed a start at outhalf alongside Kieran Marmion, with Andrew Conway moving to fullback.

In the pack, Jack McGrath comes back in after recovering from injury and is joined by last week’s try-scorer Rob Herring and big Andrew Porter in the front-row.

Ultan Dillane comes into the second-row in place of Iain Henderson, with Devin Toner joining him in the second-row. Rhys Ruddock captains the side in an all Leinster back-row alongside Jordi Murphy and Jack Conan.

Schmidt has named a strong bench that features the likes of CJ Stander, Robbie Henshaw and Cian Healy.

Ireland team to face Fiji.

15. Andrew Conway
14. Darren Sweetnam
13. Chris Farrell
12. Stuart McCloskey
11. Dave Kearney
10. Joey Carbery
9. Kieran Marmion

1. Jack McGrath
2. Rob Herring
3. Andrew Porter
4. Ultan Dillane
5. Devin Toner
6. Rhys Ruddock (c)
7. Jordi Murphy
8. Jack Conan

16. James Tracy
17. Cian Healy
18. Tadhg Furlong
19. Kieran Treadwell
20. CJ Stander
21. Luke McGrath
22. Ian Keatley
23. Robbie Henshaw

You may also like...