5 Players Shortlisted For 2017 World Rugby Player Of The Year Award

Who gets your vote?

Five players have been shortlisted for the 2017 World Rugby Player of the Year award, including last year’s winner Beauden Barrett.

Three southern hemisphere players make the list, with two coming from the northern hemisphere in England, Lions and Saracens duo Owen Farrell and Maro Itoje.

Rieko Ioane is a surprise inclusion after an incredible breakout seasons that has seen him become a regular in the All Blacks set-up. Israel Folau also makes the list after a scintillating return to form.

World Rugby Player of the Year shortlist:

  • Israel Folau
  • Maro Itoje
  • Owen Farrell
  • Rieko Ioane
  • Beauden Barrett

The winner will be announced on November 26.

The nominees for World Rugby Women’s Player of the Year are: Kelly Brazier (New Zealand), Romane Menager (France), Safi N’Diaye (France), Lydia Thompson (England) and Portia Woodman (New Zealand).

You may also like...